Learn to love yourself

“love doesn’t hurt you. People who don’t know how to love, hurt you. Don’t ever confuse the two”
-Steve Maroboli

I have found this to be more true each and every day.  The reason why relationships fail is because of this fundamental fact. People constantly hurt their significant other and all under the flag or banner of love.  I find myself saying true love doesn’t hurt, it’s just not possible if it’s Sincere. I was told I was wrong because people do it all the time that doesn’t mean they don’t love one another;  when in actuality that’s precisely what it means.

I have honestly loved all my exes, and have honestly and always try to do what was best for them even if it wasn’t reciprocated; which brings me to my next topic.  Love yourself. If you love yourself (which I’m learning to do)  you will never allow anyone to treat you in a manner that which is beneath you. You will not accept someone who is not on your level,  that offers excuses, that tries to pass abuse of any and all nature’s off as love.  You will know that as a man you should be treated as a king because you treat your woman as a queen,  and you ladies will know that you should be treated as queens because you treat your men as kings.

I am truly tired of people treating their significant other as royalty, while they themselves are kicked and stepped on treated as dirt. We deserve better and we are better than this.

When we demand that people meet us on our level, we can make progress and stop this vicious circle of broken hearts and jaded souls,  we can stop the damage.
There are too many of us full of love and appreciation getting damaged by those who treat love as a form of control and a game. Guys, ladies and gentlemen we deserve better. I know now that I do and so do you.

Leave a Reply

